Leave a comment

Divyanka Tripathi shares her Rakhi memories and new plan


divyanka-tripathi

What Rakhi memories you have of M.P. Indore/Bhopal/?

We all the brothers and sisters used to gather at our dada ji and nana ji’s place for rakhi celebration. We made arrangements like lunch at dada ji’s place with my paternal family and dinner at nana ji’s place with maternal family. It was a huge fun when all the elders would cook dinner and young ones tie rakhi and celebrate it. We all actually used to look forward to rakshabandhan to spend a beautiful get together.

Brother’s name

Aishwarya Tripathi.

Special memory of Rakhi celebration in your home town?

My brother Aishwarya is younger than me so we used to pamper him on rakhi. He used to get all kinds of gifts and goodies and toys he wanted. In the name of gifts, we used to get some cash from mummy and papa. We used to look forward to cash gifts from all our relatives that was my pocket money. I would save it for the whole year and buy gifts on birthdays for everybody. That way, it was my yearly income.

 

Your sibling is older or younger to you?

Yes, my brother is younger to me.

 

How special it is considered and celebrated there?Any special rituals followed there?

We celebrate rakhi in very authentic manner doing aarti of my brother and putting a handkerchief on his head, giving him a coconut and sweets. He would give me a gift or cash.

 

How you intend to celebrate Rakhi this year?

Now that we all cousins are living in different cities, we are planning to get together in Mumbai. From here, we will be driving to other cities where my other cousins live and I will call my brother from Bhopal. It’s an elaborate plan. All of us cousins will have a nice outing for the first time. Till date, we had celebrated rakhi in Bhopal only. Since now we are grown ups working or studying out of station and we are getting together for a purpose and we all are very excited about it.

Leave a Reply

